1. Sermon suggestions

Preaching Amos in nine individual sermons

Amos 1:1–9:15 (ESV)

1 The words of Amos, who was among the shepherds of Tekoa, which he saw concerning Israel in the days of Uzziah king of Judah and in the days of Jeroboam the son of Joash, king of Israel, two years before the earthquake.

For the purposes of preaching, Amos can be divided into nine individual sermons.1 This division (shown below) allows for the different themes of Amos to be taught without getting bogged down. It also accords with the general division of the book.

  1. Part One: God and the nations

  • The awesome God (Amos 1:1–2): The Lord roars from Zion

  • Calling the nations to account (Amos 1:3-2:16): The Lord is perfectly just

  1. Part Two: Indictment and judgment on Israel

  • If God is against us (Amos 3:1–15): The Lord's judgment is certain

  • Prepare to meet your God (Amos 4:1–13): The Lord cannot be kept at arm's length

  • Stop playing at meetings (Amos 5:1–27): The Lord determines justice

  • Stop being complacent (Amos 6:1–14): The Lord hates the proud

  1. Part Three: Visions of judgment and hope for Israel

  • Seeing it as it is (?): The Lord is patient and just

  • A famine of the Word of God (?): The Lord's patience will come to an end

  • In anger remembering mercy (?): The Lord will bring about a perfect world